About The department

The Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering offers NBA accredited B.E. degree program in Electrical and Electronics Engineering and M.E. degree program in Power Electronics and Drives. The Department has 27 qualified faculty members including 26 Ph.D. The department is recognized as approved research centre by Anna University for pursuing Ph.D / M.S (Research) program. The department has 65 research scholars pursuing Ph.D / M.S (Research) program under 10 recognized supervisors. The broad area of research includes Power Systems, Power Electronics & Drives, Special Electrical Machines, Control & Dynamics, Renewable Energy Systems, High Voltage Engineering and Optimization techniques. The department is equipped with state-of-the art laboratories like Advanced Power Electronics lab, Solar Energy Research Lab, High Voltage Lab and System Simulation Lab with licensed softwares like MATLAB, MagNet, Labview, PSpice, PSim, PSCAD, Mipower, EMTP, etc. The department has publications in referred impact factor journals and in International / National conference proceedings. The department has signed MoU with M/s. Danfoss Industries, M/s. Hibrise Technologies and has taken up research projects funded by AICTE, MNRE and NIWE. The Department has organized five International Conferences, seven National Conferences, seven Faculty Development Program sponsored by Anna University, three Short-term Training Program sponsored by AICTE, ISTE and many Workshops.